Comments on Pensive Aspie blog post

Here is a convoluted cross posting (not sure if that’s the right term) from my CarePage about my special needs son.  It contains the body of what I was attempting to send in reply to an article at the Pensive Aspie blog, but for some reason wasn’t posting…

This is so those thoughts aren’t just entirely lost to the ether…hopefully I can figure out what is stalling the comment posting at Pensive Aspie, but if not I can always refer her here…if it’s possible to discover another way to interact with her.

Trying to keep track of way too many threads in my mind!

[JournalingForTheJazzman care page post starts here]

I’m in the process of developing a Blog as an outlet and focus shift after the fallout from our recent special education/legal system battles. In the course of being more “engaged” in that particular WordPress blogging community I have been searching for writings by others that can be inspiring, informative, and edifying. To that end I shared (the bulk of, he was getting restless) a posting by a Christian woman who also has Asperger’s Syndrome. This is in hopes of eventually getting Josiah to expand his voice, and reach, online…and to give him a forum to expound on other topics of interest to him that don’t usually get into his JosiahTheOvercomer page.

Here’s a link to the article to which my reply below refers:
https://pensiveaspie.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/you-make-me-feel-disabled-yes-you

She has some great insights here from within Autism that can be of help to any of us who love, know, or interface with people on the Spectrum…Please consider reading the original posting.

Blessings to you all, and thank you so much for your ongoing prayers for our family. We really appreciate this loving support!

In Christ,

Valerie

[Comment to Pensive Aspie article starts here, which was also incorporated into the JournalingForTheJazzman care page post]

Dear Pensive Sherri,

Thank you so much for sharing this detailed and insightful post. I just shared it with my 20 year old PDD-NOS (atypical autism) son as an example of a blog written by someone on the Spectrum. Even though he wasn’t prepared to partake of every word, like I was, it appeared to be inspiring and to crack the door just a bit for him in the concept of creating a blog where he can speak in his own voice.

We are also a Christian family and my son has had many challenges that go well beyond the Spectrum “aspect” of his persona. I’ve been writing a CarePage blog about many of his needs (primarily) for several years now. That labor was begun when he was diagnosed with a Brain Tumor and Liver Masses/Tumors nearly simultaneously. Thankfully we have gotten through Brain Surgery (Pituitary Adenoma resected/removed Transphenoidally/through the nose) and a Whole Liver Transplant…

Most recently we’ve been facing numerous uphill battles in relation to FAPE (Free Appropriate Public Education)…or in our case, the lack thereof! We are currently in the process of seeking Transition support since this aspect of his IDEA mandated education was completely disregarded by our local school district…and he has “graduated” even though he cannot even do 3rd grade math! His primary care physician has told me that “high functioning autistic kids” are the ones who really don’t get their needs met from the school system, especially in the area of Transition (preparation for post High School education, employment, & independent living). Did you run into challenges in that arena, if you don’t mind me asking?

I don’t know if your Spectrum issues meant the need for Special Education Services during your earlier education…but I would truly value your feedback (as a wife, mother, person on the Spectrum, medical professional, someone with a heart for educating parents of Autistic Spectrum kids) about some of the issues we face…so here’s an invite to the Care Page about my son:
http://www.carepages.com/carepages/JournalingForTheJazzman
and one for the page he writes (mostly praises of the Lord) & some personal sharing:
http://www.carepages.com/carepages/JosiahTheOvercomer
finally, here’s a link to my recently acquired and in development WordPress blog:
https://specialconnections.wordpress.com/

I would absolutely treasure any insights you might be willing to share as I continue my own journey of trying to better understand, advocate on behalf of, prepare, inspire, pray for, and ultimately release into to God’s infinite and personal care my very unique, special, complex, and blessed son.

Thank you for sharing so much of yourself and some of the inside workings of the Autistic Spectrum mind. May God continue to Bless YOU and your family as you go forth in truth, strength, and grounded on the Rock love. You have inspired me so much!

Blessings,

Valerie Curren
wife, mother, counselor, sojourner…
4 kids (3 w/ADHD–one of whom has autism)

PS I have found significant comfort in many of the postings here, Christian parenting & special needs:
http://specialneedsparenting.net
That website could potentially benefit from an article from your extremely unique perspective!

Leave a Reply

