A Pleasant Peninsula–Lovely Tribute to Michigan

Source: A Pleasant Peninsula

The author of this piece drew my attention to it after seeing I’d posted her colleague’s tribute to Tennessee previously.  After checking out both of those moving tributes to beloved home states there is now another goal to add to the many endeavors I hope to pursue…to write some of my own thoughts, feelings, insights, & history about Michigan…and eventually some of the other states that represent the historical homes of my ancestors…

Well, I was hoping to grab a couple of quick goodies to give a hint of flavor that might come as I meander Michigan in my mind…but it’s going to take more work & time than I’m going to dedicate right now.  I’d wanted to include a link from CyndisList.com (a wonderful genealogy site!) to an item I read many years ago either a letter or a journal describing some early conditions in Detroit.  This may have been surrounding the 300th Anniversary of Detroit and involved more than one item.  Well, it’s going to take more digging so will have to wait for now, there was a description of plague conditions in Detroit, Native characters, and a letter describing Detroit as “the Paris of America”!…

J. J. Hagerman from bing.com image search

James John (J. J) Hagerman was one of my husband’s ancestors and his family moved to Michigan from Canada in his childhood.  He attended the University of Michigan and worked in mining in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  He had wide ranging interests  and developed business ventures and residences in a number of states.  Here is a link to a Wikipedia page about him, not that I endorse Wikipedia as a source, but it’s a convenient jumping off point.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/J._J._Hagerman

I’ve wondered if “Hagerman Lake” in Michigan’s UP is connected to J. J.  Hagerman and this seems to prove that point.

It turns out that Hagerman Lake is named after J. J. Hagerman,
a very colorful miner and industrialist from the 1800’s. This is confirmed
by Jack Hill on page 39 of his history of Iron County, in which he says that
“on the earliest maps Hagerman Lake bears the name of Lac Brule. The origin
of the name Hagerman is of more recent date and in all probability came from
J. J. Hagerman, a mineral and timber investor who secured large land holdings
surrounding the lake during the early development of the County.”

from http://hagermanlake.org/?p=history

“First Ice on Hagerman- Photo by Pete W.” from the HagermanLake.org site

Well that is just a tiny tidbit about Michigan, glancing at the state from an historical perspective and my husband’s familial connections to my home state.  Of course our family was extremely excited that my husband has Maize & Blue blood too!

Image result for maize blue

from a Google.com image search for “maize & blue”

Leave a Reply

