Special Connections Origin

This was a name I came up with for a theoretical support group I’d hoped to start and facilitate at our local church.  Originally the idea was to link women who were facing “special needs” situations.  Several women in my church are mothers of special needs kids.  Later, a few women lost close family members and were weighed down by grief.  The idea for the “Special Connections” group was expanding…

Ultimately I personally got bogged down with things going on in our own family life, to the place where I pretty much let the dream of such a “support group” die…Being on our church’s Governing Board there was an exploration of the church getting involved in a ministry designed to train “lay counselors” to minister to other parishioners.  This plan also was abandoned by leadership.  Having a degree in Counseling I had hoped to head up such ministry training  but apparently that was not to be either.

So…by happenstance, while commenting on another WordPress blog/website called Special Needs Parenting, I clicked on the link to get a blog myself and “Special Connections” was given another chance at life.

Currently going through some pretty heavy stuff related to my own special needs son this blog is now intended first as an outlet, second as a repository, third as a resource, and fourth as an encouragement.  Since I have no idea if anyone else will ever read anything here it will serve as a kind of web-based journal (isn’t that practically the meaning of a Web Log AKA Blog?) and place to keep tabs on many of my eclectic interests.

Hopefully here’s some of what this Blog will eventually contain, God Willing:

Favorite Scriptures with present tense personal insights

Family dynamics, events, & perspectives

Family History & Genealogy

Special Needs Info & Processing

Advocacy Advice & Cautionary Tales

Links to above categories

Links to some favorite music and videos

Links to my personal Pinterest and Twitter pages

Links to my CarePages.com blog and that of my autistic son

Insights about medical, therapeutic, behavioral, interpersonal, & spiritual sides of disability

Culture Wars & Commentary with links to provocative web-based writings

Offbeat & Enjoyable topics, sites, and images, etc.

Occasional commentary on books, movies, music, and shows in my orbit…

Well, it’s more than past time to attempt to get some sleep so this will likely get “published” in an “as is” status and we’ll partake of my ubiquitous feet of clay.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing a bit of the ride, Valerie

Leave a Reply

